Return to the home page Contact the team Privacy policy on this website RML Lola Mazda B08/86
RML AD Group racing with Lola and Mazda
Click here for the latest news from RML AD Group
Information about racing with RML AD Group
Information and galleries for the motorsport media
Sponsorship opportunities with RML AD Group
Shop, downloads and merchandising from team RML AD Group
Ideas and innovations from RML AD Group

Third Championship Title for RML in 2010

Nearly a month to the day after RML secured two class titles in the Le Mans Series with Drivers’ and Teams’ championship honours, the Wellingborough-based outfit clinched its third impressive championship win last weekend in the form of the 2010 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship with Jason Plato.

RML Chevrolet Cruze | BTCC | Brands Hatch 2010Proving to be the strongest package on the grid, RML, Jason and the Silverline Chevrolet Cruze blitzed the Brands Hatch title-deciding season finalé from start to finish, with a dazzling display worthy of pole position and two race victories – all in spite of the ever-present additional weight of success ballast.

In claiming the 2010 title, Jason’s second in his touring car career, he has equalled Andy Rouse’s record of 60 BTCC wins*. The newly crowned champion has scored 21 of those with RML across three of his twelve years in the series and, coincidentally, has taken seven victories in each of his three campaigns with the touring car specialists – 2004 (SEAT Toledo), 2009 (RML Chevrolet Lacetti) and 2010 (Silverline Chevrolet Cruze).

2010 also marks RML’s 15th year in touring car racing and since 1992 in the BTCC 2-litre era, the team has represented and won titles with three different manufacturers: Vauxhall, Nissan and Chevrolet. Of RML’s eighth BTCC title win, Chief Executive, Ray Mallock said: “This is a tremendous team achievement. We entered the series with the package to beat on the grid in Jason, Alex and the Cruze, and our aim from the start was to take the championship win in partnership with Chevrolet. It gives me, and all involved, great pleasure to know that we have accomplished our target. To do so at the final race meeting of the year with two dominant race victories is the perfect way to end the season.”

Since entering the touring car arena back in the early-nineties, RML has amassed a tally of 86 wins and remains on target to add further to their championship-winning year in the FIA WTCC, where Chevrolet driver, Yvan Muller currently tops the standings. He has a 25-point margin over nearest rival, Andy Priaulx. Chevrolet leads the Manufacturers’ standings with 569 points, 45 point clear of SEAT Customers Technology. The hotly contested series will determine its championship victor in Macau on the 21st November.

Whilst the Le Mans Series and BTCC trophies proudly adorn the cabinet at RML, there is hope (and space) for more prestigious awards, as Ray adds, “There are still two more championships to fight for yet, the FIA WTCC Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles. We head to Okayama in very similar circumstances as we did Brands with Jason – Yvan has a 25 point gap and, whilst we’re in a strong position from the front, much can happen during the race. Our approach to the final rounds will be just the same – to target the race wins and maximise on our points-scoring finishes, hopefully continuing our remarkable run of success across our projects in 2010.”

You can read all the latest news on, or at

For more information, please contact:
Sara Lambden - RML Group
Email: Sara Lambden
Telephone: 01933 402440

* We would like to acknowledge that Andy's record was set during a period when the BTCC had far fewer races - only one race per weekend and typically only 13 races in a season. In the "modern era", the BTCC weekend usually has two, sometimes three races.

RML News
Third Title for RML in 2010
Issued October 14th 2010

RML Chevrolet Cruze | BTCC | Brands Hatch 2010



RML Chevrolet  | British Touring Car Championship | Partners 2010

Click here to return to the main News menu