Return to the home page Contact the team Privacy policy on this website RML Lola Mazda B08/86
RML AD Group racing with Lola and Mazda
Click here for the latest news from RML AD Group
Information about racing with RML AD Group
Information and galleries for the motorsport media
Sponsorship opportunities with RML AD Group
Shop, downloads and merchandising from team RML AD Group
Ideas and innovations from RML AD Group

RML AD Group Drivers win BRDC Award

RML AD Group's Mike Newton and Andy Wallace - the two British-born drivers in the team's driver line-up at Le Mans this season - received this year's Woolf Barnato Trophy from the BRDC (British Racing Drivers Club) at a glittering ceremony held at the recently refurbished Savoy hotel in London on Monday.

Entrepreneur and long-time racing driver Mike Newton - the CEO of CCTV specialist AD Group - shared the prestigious Woolf Barnato Trophy with veteran sportscar racer Andy Wallace. The imposing award, presented by Sir Jackie Stewart OBE, recognises the highest-placed British or Commonwealth driver, in a British car, in the Le Mans 24 Hours Race. Mike Newton and former RML teammate Andy Wallace, together with Brazilian Thomas Erdos, returned to the famous Le Mans 24 Hours, the scene of two previous class wins, and finished in a very credible third-place in LMP2, 8th overall. They did so aboard the team's Lola HPD Coupé - built in Huntingdon, and prepared by RML in Wellingborough.

It was a memorable finish to the race for Newton; a Le Mans 24 Hours veteran with eight appearances to his name. He had the distinction of driving the final stint to take the chequered flag in front of 200,000 spectators, securing the all-important podium spot.

The team has had an extremely successful 2010 season, going on to celebrate a second LMP2 (Le Mans Prototype) class title in the Le Mans Series, which saw the team battling through five gruelling six-hour endurance races and achieving strong results in every round, including a notable win in the Algarve.

Mike Newton's passion for motorsport is a longstanding one and stretches back to the late 1970's. In fact his first real taste of motorsport was as a marshal - the unsung heroes of racing - and he was appointed Vice-President of British Motorsport Marshals Club (BMMC) in 2008. As a driver he started out in Formula Ford 1600 in 1985. Since then, his personal landmarks include: Le Mans 24 Hours class wins in 2005 and 2006, as well as this year's podium finish; two Le Mans Series Championships (2007 and again this year, 2010); and driving his Ford Falcon EL to class victory in the 2001 Nürburgring 6 Hours. Newton has also raced on tracks across the globe, with one of the memorable highlights for him being his GTS class victory in Florida in the 2002 Daytona Grand-Am finalé driving an RML-designed Saleen S7-R.

Andy Wallace will always be associated with his debut win in the 24 Hours with Jaguar in 1988, and he has gone on to become one of the most experienced and successful sportscar racing drivers in the history of the sport. As well as co-driving the RML Lola HPD at Le Mans this year - his third outing in the 24 Hours with RML AD Group, including the class win in 2006 - Andy also shared the #25 Lola for the opening two rounds of the 2010 Le Mans Series. He has competed 21 times at Le Mans.

Mike Newton and Andy Wallace win Woolf Barnato Trophy | Photo Jakob Ebrey

Mike Newton
Woolf Barnato"I'm delighted to have been honoured by the BRDC as the joint winner of the Woolf Barnato Trophy," said Mike Newton, "Our result in the Le Mans 24 Hours was a real team effort. It is certainly a privilege to follow in the footsteps of all the famous drivers who have flown the flag for Britain in the Le Mans 24 Hours over the years. Joel Woolf Barnato - the three times winner at Le Mans (right) and after whom the Trophy is named - was the first recipient in 1928. It serves as a real inspiration to us all. He was one of the original BRDC-founding Bentley Boys and famously beat ‘Le Train Bleu’ in the car-versus-train race from Cannes to London."

Andy Wallace
"It's always an honour to be recognised by the BRDC, and I'm thrilled to have received this wonderful award. It was a pleasure to drive with Mike and Tommy this year at Le Mans, and to share in this memorable result. Credit must also go RML for giving us, as always, a fast and reliable car."

Mike Newton and Andy Wallace win Woolf Barnato Trophy | Third at Le Mans 2010

Click on the top image for an enlargement. Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography.

For more information on AD Group please visit For more details on this year's Le Mans, please check our full race coverage here: Le Mans 2010

Team News
BRDC Annual Awards 2010

Issued December 13th 2010

Mike Newton and Andy Wallace win Woolf Barnato Trophy | Third at Le Mans








































Click here to return to the main News menu