Return to the home page Contact the team Privacy policy on this website RML Lola Mazda B08/86
RML AD Group racing with Lola and Mazda
Click here for the latest news from RML AD Group
Information about racing with RML AD Group
Information and galleries for the motorsport media
Sponsorship opportunities with RML AD Group
Shop, downloads and merchandising from team RML AD Group
Ideas and innovations from RML AD Group

RML AD Group Collects Le Mans Series Trophies

Representatives from RML AD Group attended the official 2010 Le Mans Series awards ceremony staged in the imposing library of the Automobile Club de France, Place de la Concorde, Paris on Friday 7th January 2011.

RML Race Operations Director Phil Barker, who manages the team’s Sports Prototype Programme, accepted the Le Mans Series LMP2 Team Trophy on behalf of RML (right). At the close of a very competitive season, the RML Lola HPD secured the title with a total of 75 points, having led the challenge from the second round onwards.

“It is very rewarding and a great honour to receive this trophy on behalf of all the team,” said Phil. “From the first race we realised we were going to be in for a very tough year. With that in mind, we knew we would have to be right on the ball if we were going to be in contention for the title. We elected to focus on finishing every race and employing some creative race strategies, and it paid off. The crew prepared the car to an exceptional standard, and we achieved the reliability we needed. The drivers had to use their common sense and stay out of trouble in every race, and avoid bringing the car back with lumps hanging off, and I’m delighted to say that everybody did an exemplary job. We won a championship in a year when we didn’t have the fastest car, but we worked together as a team. This trophy is a great compliment to everyone involved.”

RML AD Group, LMS Champions 2010. Phil Barker, Team Manager, with Ray Mallock, CEORay Mallock, CEO of RML, has witnessed an exceptional year for the Wellingborough–based company he founded. “This has been the final award presentation from our 2010 campaign, and it comes just a few weeks after we accepted the World Touring Car trophy in Monaco in December and the British Touring Car awards in November. Regaining the Le Mans Series title after a gap of three years is a great achievement by Phil and the team, especially during such a highly competitive season. We faced some very tough opponents, and winning an award of this type can only be achieved by a concerted group effort. In 2010 all the elements worked together perfectly; drivers, engineers, mechanics, chassis, engine, and that teamwork enabled us to win.”

RML AD Group, LMS Champions 2010. Mike Newton and Thomas ErdosCEO of AD Group, Mike Newton, and Brazilian Thomas Erdos stepped onto the stage to accept the individual Le Mans Series LMP2 driver’s trophies. The two have raced together for eight consecutive years, and have been front-runners in the Le Mans Series since its inception. They share the 2010 title by a margin of six points.  

“I’m delighted to have regained the title in what was a very demanding year,” said Mike. “It has been a tremendous team effort, and I’d like to acknowledge the contribution of everyone in the squad, including Andy Wallace and Ben Collins, who gave Tommy and me tremendous support during their stints in the cockpit.”

“It has been great to see my fellow team members in Paris, celebrate a great season for the RML AD Group, and to collect these impressive trophies,” said Tommy. “I’m incredibly proud to be a member of the squad and I can’t wait to bring the silverware back to AD Group and to RML’s headquarters to share a few moments with all the people who’ve worked so hard during the year to make our programme such a success.”

RML AD Group will be returning to the Le Mans Series in 2011 to defend the titles.

Click on the images to access enlargements. Credit: Jean-Michel Le Meur/DPPI

About RML

The RML Group comprises six divisions; Motorsport, Automotive, Engines, Historic, Events and X-Pro. Based in Northamptonshire, England the company’s 4,300 square metre facility includes design, development, manufacturing and operational support for international race/rally programmes and automotive engineering projects including performance engine development.

Since its formation in 1984 RML has achieved success in a diverse range of motorsport categories including GT/sportscars, touring cars, rally cars, single seaters and oval speedway cars. RML currently holds the LMP2 team and drivers titles in the Le Mans Series with Mike Newton and Thomas Erdos. RML also secured the 2010 British Touring Car Championship drivers title with Chevrolet and Jason Plato and the World Touring Car Championship manufacturer and drivers titles with Chevrolet and Yvan Muller.

RML Contact: Rupert Manwaring, Sponsorship & Marketing Director
Telephone: +44 (0)1933 402440

About AD Group

AD Group was formed in 1997. AD’s primary objective is to develop and bring to market new CCTV technologies. One of the first companies to embrace the concept of video over IP (Internet Protocol), AD's interests now include CCTV for aircraft, transport, smoke detection, together with camera technology and digital video recorders and multiplexers.

AD Group: Pauline Norstrom, Director of Worldwide Marketing. Telephone: +44 (0)1928 706 449

For more information on AD Group please visit

Team News
Le Mans Series Awards 2010

Issued January 10th 2011

RML AD Group, LMS Champions 2010. Phil Barker, Team Manager





























Click here to return to the main News menu